The New Years First Golf Tournament, at Tierra del Sol

Tierra del Sol’s first golf tournament of the 2012 season was nothing less than competitive. Fifty golfers faced off against the 18-hole championship golf course in a stroke play tournament on Saturday. The combination of Aruba’s trade winds and the fast rolling greens challenged and stretched players’ golf skills.

This year Tierra del Sol revealed an action-packed golf tournament schedule, with the new, just-introduced Perennial Cup which will go on throughout the year.

Adam Williamson, Head Golf Professional, Tierra del Sol Resort Spa & Country Club, reports each tournament result will grant players points, and at the end of the annual schedule, the player with the most points will win a Full Golf Membership at Tierra del Sol for 2013, a prize valued at $3,800.  The Perennial Cup winner will then go on to enjoy the better things in life at the country club’s Ventanas del Mar Restaurant, at Body & Soul Spa, and at the Golf Course, for a full year of indulgences, as his first tournament prize.

On Saturday, the winners of the New Year Golf Tournament were John “Maine-Maniac” Lizotte in the net division and local golfer Shine Helmen, in the gross division.

The award ceremony recognized 1st Gross, Shine Helmen, 77, 2nd Gross, Orlando Rasmijn, 78,

and 3rd Gross, Maurice DeLisle, 80, as well as 1st Net, John Lizotte, 69, 2nd Net, Bas v/d Nieuwenhuijzen, 71, and 3rd Net, Jan Roeloffsvalk, 72.
Prizes sponsored by Body & Soul Spa, Ventanas del Mar Restaurant and the Golf Shop were also awarded to Closest to Pin on #3, Bas v/d Nieuwenhuijzen, Closest to Pin on #7, Michael Mattalo, Closest to Pin on #13, Gian Pietersz, Closest to Pin on #15 Ron Moser, and Closest to Pin on #17 Nigel Nedd.

Share on:

January 11, 2012
Rona Coster